Day 3 (ish)

Pardon the late post. It’s technically day 4 but I have a picture from day 3 so Bleh.

This is my dog Baxter. He’s a bit over 2 years old, I got him March 2016, rescued him from an animal shelter right before he was scheduled to cross the bridge. The process of getting him was full of drama, but today I can’t imagine living without him. He’s family, he’s my love, and he’s a part of me now.

Getting to the point, he reminds me of the struggles we have everyday or every few times in our lives when we believe nothing will get better, or that this is the worst thing to ever happen, or sometimes we just want to give in and give up. It was hard keeping Baxter and trying to stay strong when almost everyone told us we shouldn’t have him, that his breed is bad, or he’s too much money, or there’s no room. My ex Israel was stronger than me, determined to keep him, and I’m glad we did because when I have those days again, Baxter keeps me sane even when he can’t say anything.

There’s always going to be a point in time where we feel like we can’t go on, that nothing will get better, that this moment is the end and we can’t ever get over it… but when you look a month, a year, 2 years, or 10 years from now you might actually be able to look back and laugh. We don’t know how our lives or situation will change in the future, but all you can do is keep going and hope for the best. I hope everyone can have their own kind of Baxter one day, a companion, or just a symbol of what you’ve accomplished. Don’t give up. Keep going. 

Leave a Reply

